Baking · Recipes

Peruvian Alfajores – The Peruvian Delight

I don’t know if everyone knows what an alfajor is, and if you don’t keep reading and thank me later ( seriously ) . I grew up eating these in Peru, they were my favourite sweet treat that I always wanted, my grandma used to make the best alfajores in town from what i hear, since I don’t have her recipe I decided to look one up. I asked my mom and she said this recipe is very similar from what she remembers. I made these last week, and just couldn’t keep still, I was so happy on how they turned out, it was as if they came straight from Peru. I couldn’t just keep this excitement to myself, I had to share it with you all. SO here you go guys! The best recipe of Alfajores. HERE Beware, these are very sweet and very addicting! Let me know in the comments below if you make them!

Makes around 35 Alfajores (depends on the size)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups corn starch, sifted
  • ⅔ cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 4 tablespoons sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 2 tablespoons fresh milk (if necessary)
  • 1 (14-ounce) can dulce de leche (** I used a pack of Marjanblanco that my grandpa sent me from Peru)
  • Confectioner’s sugar, for dusting
 Instructions
  • Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  • Beat the eggs with the sugar at medium speed, for 3 minutes; add the butter and continue beating. Stop the mixer.
  • Add the corn starch and baking powder in three parts, using a spatula, then knead lightly with your hand until the dough is no longer sticky. If the dough feels dry add the milk.
  • On a floured table, roll the dough with a floured rolling pin to form a very thin layer, about a ⅛ inch.
  • To make the cookies cut the dough with round cookie cutters, and bake for 8 minutes in ungreased baking sheets. If you don’t have cookie cutters, be creative. You can use the top of a glass or cup, which will make slightly bigger alfajores.
  • Cool the cookies on racks. When completely cool, fill them with a teaspoon dulce de leche. Place another cookie on top, like a sandwich, and sift the confectioner’s sugar over the alfajores.

IMG_3381IMG_3367IMG_3380

XOXO

248BE169837DB08CDB20967EA364E9EC

Leave a Reply

