Cooking · Recipes

Homemade Vegan Calzones

IMG_1859

Hello Everybody, today I decided that I would try to make some vegan calzones.

Not only did I decide to make them but also share the process with you, I thought it would be very complicated but it was actually easier than I thought. Below you will find the recipe first, and then I will do a step by step with pictures.

ENJOY.. and BON APPETI.

Ingredients: DOUGH

1 tablespoon active dry yeast

1 teaspoon sugar

2 cups warm water (105 to 115 degrees F)

5 – 5 1/2 cups all-purpose flour ( or half whole wheat and half white flour)

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 teaspoons salt

Ingredients: FILLING

Tofu

Pesto sauce ( any kind)

Brocoli

Bell Peppers

Spinach

Mushrooms

Carrots

Frozen veggies ( if needed)

Salt and spices to your taste

Directions for Dough:

1. In a very large bowl combine yeast and sugar. Pour warm water over all. Let stand 5 minutes. Using a wooden spoon stir in 2 cups of the flour, the olive oil, and salt. Stir in as much remaining flour as you can. Knead in enough remaining flour to make a moderately stiff dough that is smooth and elastic (6 to 8 minutes). Shape dough into a ball. Place in a greased bowl, turn to grease surface. Cover; let rise for 40 minutes or until double in size.
2.   Punch dough down. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Divide dough into 10 equal portions or more. Cover and let rest for 10 minutes. Then you can start making your Calzones!
Baking time:
Preheat oven to 350 F
Bake calzones for 20 minutes
 Preparation
Ok so, I combined my water, sugar and yeast and had to wait for 5 minutes until it was foamy
How it looks in the beginning
IMG_1827
How it looks after 5 minutes
IMG_1830
Once I did that I added the olive oil, salt, and 2 cups of flour( 1C whole wheat, 1C White flour) and then mixed it
IMG_1832
Then I gradually started putting the rest of the flour, alternating from whole wheat to white flour, at this point I had to use my hands as I could not mix it with the wooden spoon anymore.
And this was how my dough came out after 10 minutes of kneading it. It was not sticky, it was just perfect.
IMG_1836
So then I put it in greased up bowl and let it rise in a warm place for about 1 hour.
During the time that my dough was rising, I got all my ingredients for my filling ready
IMG_1841
I then started to sauté them, first mushrooms then paper, broccoli, frozen veggies, and at the end the spinach. I sauté them for about 10 minutes, I didn’t want them too soggy as they will also be cooked in the oven.
IMG_1843
Once that was sautéed, I crumbled up my tofu in another bowl, added the pesto sauce and some Soy Milk sauce to make it creamier. And added whatever spices I wanted to make it DELICIOUS.
IMG_1848
Now it was time to check back on the dough, and it had doubled in size! WOHOO
IMG_1847
I then divided it in equal pieces and let them rise for about 10 minutes.
IMG_1850
Once the 10 minutes was up, I put flour on the counter top and started to roll it out. One by one of course.
IMG_1851
Then put it in my little calzone folding machine thingy ( i don’t know how it is called) but its a life saver and supper easy to use) I put in about 2 table spoons of tofu, and then the veggies on top. Once that was done, I folded it, took out the extra edges, and press down so that it can close properly.
IMG_1853
And this is how it looks when i open it, Beautiful right!?IMG_1854 IMG_1856
Once I finished with all of them, I preaheated the over to 350 F, and popped them in the oven for 20 minutes.
IMG_1857
And the end result! DELICIOUS! And so healthy! No cheese, no dairy products.
IMG_1858IMG_1859
I hope that you will try this in your kitchen! and if you have any questions you can always ask me!! ENJOY!!! ❤
XOXO
248BE169837DB08CDB20967EA364E9EC

3 thoughts on “Homemade Vegan Calzones

Leave a Reply

